- 46.2-300. Driving without license prohibited; penalties.
“No person, except those expressly exempted in §§ 46.2-303 through 46.2-308, shall drive any motor vehicle on any highway in the Commonwealth until such person has applied for a driver’s license, as provided in this article, satisfactorily passed the examination required by § 46.2-325, and obtained a driver’s license, nor unless the license is valid.”
Any individual found violating any clauses of this section, will be imposed the penalty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. If the individual happens to get subsequent violations, the individual will be imposed the penalty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. If the individual is deemed guilty of committing an offense as per this section, it is likely that the court will suspend their driving privilege for a time period of no more than 90 days.
Driving in Alexandria – Virginia without a License
As per the perfectly clear and defined Virginia laws, a Virginian driver has to have a valid driver’s license in order to drive an automobile on the roads or highway of Virginia. If any individual happens to move to Alexandria – Virginia from another state, they must now follow the required procedures as per the Virginian state. They need to apply for a driver’s license as the Virginian police officer can hand a citation for this offense. Majority of the people living in other states have no idea of this state’s strict and firm driver’s license laws till they are asked to pull over by the law enforcement officer.
When Is a Virginia Driver’s License Not Required?
There are some certain people and some certain situations, which does not necessitate a driver owning a license in the state of Virginia. Such situations can be if:
- A person is driving farm appliances and equipment
- A military worker driving military vehicles
- New residents recently moved to Virginia
- Licensed American citizens visiting from other states
What are the Penalties in Alexandria – Virginia for Driving with no License?
Any individual caught driving without having a valid license in Alexandria – Virginia, can be sentenced for its penalties. The relevant law enforcement officers will charge the individual, guilty of Class 2 felony. The penalty for this charge will be the individual spending no more than six months as jail time. It is also possible that the offender will be charged a fine of no more than $1,000.
Penalties for a second offense
Any individual caught on a second offense or for subsequent offenses will be penalized by the relevant law enforcement authorities. They will be sentenced to pay a fine of no more than $2,500 and to serve one year as jail time. It’s also likely that their driving license will be suspended for no more than one year.
Get help by your Alexandria – Virginian lawyer in clearing your Violations
If a Virginian driver has a history of showing such violations, they will face a rough time if they have to deal with any future charges. A knowledgeable and skilled Virginian lawyer at your side will know and guide you on how all your charges should be handled. You must be well aware of all your options on how to tackle your offenses. Your lawyer will make sure you are.