According to the Code of Virginia § 46.2-894.
“Duty of driver to stop, etc., in event of an accident involving injury or death or damage to attended property; penalty.”
Further elaboration of this Code as subsection:
“Duty of driver to stop, etc., in event of accident involving injury or death or damage to attended property”
- If a Virginian driver was driving an automobile that happened to be involved in a car accident where the other driver suffered physical injuries or got killed, or if the automobile got damaged, the driver is legally responsible to stay and not flee from the accident scene. The state of Virginia’s Commonwealth law requires the driver to stop, making sure that the ongoing traffic is not obstructed. In case the victim is badly wounded and requires medical dealing, the driver is liable to assist in taking the victim to the hospital. The driver is also legally responsible to report their name, driver’s license number, address, vehicle registration number to the law-enforcement officers, or to that driver who was struck.
- In those cases where the accident has caused the driver himself/herself to sustain physical injuries from the mishap, the driver must report to the State Police or the relevant law-enforcement authorities until the driver has recovered from the injuries sustained. As soon as the driver is well enough, they should report to the officers to trace the person, or the driver, or the bystander who has been struck.
- The driver will be in violation of this law if:
- The motor accident results in bodily wounds or even death of the victim, or if the automobile damage estimates of more than $1000, these cases will be treated as a Class 5 Felony.
- The automobile accident results in damage estimates to less than $1000, these cases will be treated as a Class 1 Misdemeanor.
Proof of This Offence of Hit and Run Before the Offender Is Sentenced To Its Penalty
The state of Virginia’s Commonwealth is liable to have sufficient proof that the accused driver has committed the crime of hit and run. The authorities must find out if:
- The accused Richmond – Virginian driver was the driver of the involved motor vehicle
- The accident resulted in:
- Bodily injury or death of the victim; or
- The damages were found to be $1000 or more.
- The accused Richmond – Virginian driver already knew, or should’ve taken the effort to find out that:
- The accident caused injury to another person; or
- The damages were estimated to be $1000 or more.
- The accused Richmond – the Virginian driver did not bother to:
- Stop there and then at the accident site, while making sure that the ongoing traffic was not obstructed; or
- Provide any necessary support and care to the injured victim; or
- Report their name, driver’s license number, address, vehicle registration number to the law-enforcement officers, or to the individual who was struck if he/she was still aware and in control of the happenings.